BG Management on Point!

I’ve really been slacking on updating this blog. I wanted to participate more with the social aspect of Diabetes Awareness Month, but I haven’t done it as much as I wanted. I’ve been reading, though, and I wore blue on World Diabetes Day! We still have several more days left, so I hope to be more present.

Things have been really busy since the marathon. I can’t believe that was 20 days ago already. It feels like a lifetime, though. I don’t despise the 26.2 mile distance anymore, and I am certainly more open to running the NYC Marathon again, but I don’t know if 2016 will be the year. Training is such a time suck, and I have a lot going on in my head that I want to accomplish next year. I’ve been fighting the urge to throw my name in for the NYC Half in March, but I won’t give in.

I’ve been running 2-3 miles when I have some time to do so after dinner. I’m not following any sort of training plan, but it’s good, if not better, than long distance training for my diabetes management and overall health. However, I’d like to be able to maintain a 10-mile fitness level throughout the winter.

I’ve been doing a really good job keeping my levels between my 70-200 target. I experienced a pretty big spike Monday evening, but other than that, I’ve been keeping good control! My diet hasn’t been the best this week either because of all the running around, so that makes the control surprising, but super welcome. I had been using about 30 units of insulin per day but that number has actually been dropping as the week has passed. I was down to 22 yesterday and I ate a big dinner consisting of Italian food.

I’m trying to lose a few pounds (I’d be happy with 3) and get back to some good snacking habits. Marathon training left me hungry all the time, and there have been quite a few treats available at the office kitchen. Anyway, I went back to having Light and Fit Greek Yogurt and coffee for breakfast. I had been eating oatmeal or a banana, but they were causing my levels to spike in the mornings. Eating the high protein/low carb yogurt first and then eating my banana for lunch or a snack later in the afternoon works well because I’m more insulin sensitive in the afternoons. Keeping my levels in range also helps with hunger, so hopefully that helps with my goal.

 

 

Leave a Reply

