November Slacker

I feel like I’ve been slacking in my blog posts since the marathon ended. It’s been exactly one month–it feels like forever ago!

It’s December 1, which means Diabetes Awareness Month and Thanksgiving are behind us. Where does the time go?

I ran 5 miles on the treadmill Thanksgiving morning between peeling and boiling potatoes. My right knee has been hurting again, and I really aggravated it. It was so painful throughout the weekend, so I tried to stay off of it, but it’s more dull now.

My husband and I hosted our families this year, and it was so nice. I had amazing control of my diabetes that day, despite all the good food in my belly. I briefly spiked into the 200s a few times, but nothing major.

Friday, however was another story. I struggled with high blood sugar all day, especially after eating some leftovers for lunch. My family gathered for leftovers for dinner, and by that point, I was in the upper 200s to 300s, I think. Despite the warnings, I proceeded to eat, thinking I’d get it under control. I could not have been more wrong. By 1 a.m., I was in the 300s for more than six hours, and I was feeling it. I was dreaming that I needed to go to the hospital–I don’t know if I had ketones, though. I haven’t had strips to test in a really long time.

Saturday was a yo-yo day. I felt queasy and dehydrated…despite not eating much, I stayed pretty steady into the 200s and my insulin resistance was at an all-time high. My blood sugar WOULD.NOT.BUDGE. I finally started getting better Sunday and my control has been back to normal since then. I wish I would have been able to run. I totally credit that for aiding my good control on Thanksgiving day.

I sure learned my lesson.

For The rest of December, I’m going for a running streak, so until New Year’s Eve, I’ll strive to run at least a mile a day. That’ll help me burn some extra calories and meet my goal of 600 miles for the year. Let’s hope I can keep up!

 

Leave a Reply

