MIA This Christmas!

Well, I’ve certainly been MIA this month. The reason I haven’t been writing isn’t because of all the running I’ve been doing, unfortunately. It’s been quite the opposite.

I started the month with a goal of hitting 600 miles for the year, but my knee had other plans. Though I started out running at the beginning of the month, I quickly realized I needed to stop if I wanted to cross the Princess Half Marathon finish line in February. At this point, I can get my miles in a little later than initially intended and properly recover before I pick up on training for Princess again.

It’s been two weeks or so since I’ve run, and while my knee is feeling much better, it’s still a bit sore. I’ve been working on some PT exercises to strengthen my quads and calves with my sister, so hopefully that helps.

To compensate a little for my inactivity, I started parking father away for work. It’s going to save me a ton of money each year and I will get in at least 1-1.5 miles a day — and I have a pretty nice view of the city. It’s something, I guess.

IMG_4923

The winter has been so mild here so far! It’s going to be in the 60s today and 70 tomorrow for Christmas Eve. It’s seriously perfect running weather. Oh well. At least my walks have been pleasant!

Diabetes management has been OK for the most part, surprisingly. With the combo of not running and all the Christmas goodies at the office, it could potentially be a disaster. I’ve done well, and I’ve been trying to eat less (or only when I am hungry). I’m a snacker, so that’s been tough, but I want to lose a few pounds and just get into a good habit of only eating when I need to. Plus, I’m not as hungry now as when I am running.

I hope everyone is having a nice holiday season! I’ll make it a point to check in next week 🙂

Merry Christmas!

 

 

Leave a Reply

