It’s the little (big!) things…

Today, I had my first endocrinologist appointment since having my continuous glucose monitor, and my A1C level is 5.5 percent! My endo even let out a little gasp!

The test measures a person’s average blood glucose over three months. For someone who doesn’t have diabetes, a normal A1C level can range from 4.5 to 6 percent. The range for people with diabetes varies, but general consensus seems to be that diabetics should fall below 7 percent.

When I was diagnosed, I had an A1C level of 11.3 percent. Since then, my highest in the almost four years that I’ve had diabetes was 7.4 percent.

The last (and only) time I was below 6 percent, it was three months after diagnosis. At that point, I had an A1C level of 5.9 percent, and I was in what they call the “honeymoon” phase, where your pancreas continues to produce a small amount of insulin (that normally lasts a year or so). I generally fall somewhere between 6 and 7 percent.

I am ELATED!

Leave a comment